South Africa v Ireland: Tourists aim to complete first series win in SA

Ireland scrum-half Conor Murray gets a pass away in last weekend's first Test

South Africa v Ireland
Venue: Ellis Park, Johannesburg Date: Saturday, 18 June Kick-off: 16:00 BST
Coverage: Live text commentary and report on BBC Sport website

Ireland have the first of two chances to earn a first series win in South Africa when they face the Springboks in Saturday’s second Test in Johannesburg.

The 14-man Irish clinched a shock 26-20 win in Cape Town last weekend.

Ireland coach Joe Schmidt has denied that the five changes he has made to his side from the opening game indicate he has an eye on the final Test.

Elton Jantjies and Pieter-Steph du Toit have been drafted in for South Africa.

Fly-half Jantjies and lock du Toit replace injured pair Patrick Lambie and Lood de Jager in coach’s Allister Coetzee second game in charge.

Jantjies’ inclusion raises the number of black players in the starting line-up to six.

The South Africa government has demanded that the Springboks better reflect the demographics of a country where 90% of the population is black.

Ireland are aiming to become the first of the four home nations to win a Test series in South Africa.

More on Ireland’s tour to South Africa
Heaslip expects Johannesburg ‘cauldron’
Ireland unlikely to appeal against Stander ban
Jackson savours Ireland win over South Africa
Trimble expects Springbok backlash

Pretoria-born Quinn Roux’s inclusion at lock is one of Ireland’s five changes as Ulster powerhouse Iain Henderson moves from the second row to replace flanker CJ Stander, who was red-carded at Newlands.

Other forwards changes see Rhys Ruddock and Tadgh Furlong come in for Jordi Murphy and Mike Ross, while Ulster pair Stuart Olding and Craig Gilroy take over from Luke Marshall and Keith Earls in the backs.

Marshall and Jordi Murphy were among Ireland’s most impressive performers last weekend, but Schmidt has dismissed suggestions he is resting players for a possible decisive final Test in Port Elizabeth on 25 June.

“I’m really hoping that they will pleasantly surprise, just as the players who were probably undervalued a little bit last week,” he said.

“It’s important that we don’t wait, that we try to grasp the moment that we can and that moment is this weekend’s game at Ellis Park.

“If we were waiting for Port Elizabeth, they’re likely to be better again.”

South Africa: W le Roux; JP Pietersen, L Mapoe, D de Allende, L Mvov; E Jantjies, F de Klerk; T Mtawarira, A Strauss (capt), F Malherbe; E Etzebeth, P du Toit; F Louw, S Kolisi, D Vermeulen.

Replacements: B Mbonambi, T Nyakane, J Redelinghuys, F Mostert, W Whiteley, R Paige, M Steyn, R Combrink.

Ireland: J Payne; A Trimble, R Henshaw, S Olding, C Gilroy; P Jackson, C Murray; J McGrath, R Best (capt), T Furlong; D Toner, Q Roux; I Henderson, R Ruddock, J Heaslip.

Replacements: R Strauss, D Kilcoyne, F Bealham, D Ryan, S Reidy, K Marmion, I Madigan, T O’Halloran.

BBC Sports - View Original Story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *