Exeter knocked out as Clermont-Auvergne cruise to win

Nick Abedanon goes in at the corner for Clermont

European Champions Cup Pool Five
Clermont-Auvergne (34) 48
Tries: Kayser, Nakaitaci, Penalty, Fofana, Abendanon, Lapandry, Yato. Cons: Parra 5 Pen: Parra
Exeter Chiefs (0) 26
Tries: Short, Devoto, Woodburn, Campagnaro. Cons: Steenson 2, Simmonds

Exeter were knocked out of the European Champions Cup as Clermont-Auvergne secured a home tie and top seeding for the last eight with an emphatic win.

The Chiefs came into the game needing a bonus point-win to have any chance of a place in the last eight.

But they were left facing an uphill task when they conceded a try after only three minutes when Benjamin Kayser crashed over.

The French Top 14 leaders went on to dominate, scoring seven tries.

Their 26-point total in Pool Five victory means they are the leading team in the last eight, which they have now reached for the fifth time in the last six years.

Noa Nakaitaci added to Kayser’s early effort and Morgan Parra converted both and scored a penalty to leave the home side in control after just 23 minutes

Worse was to come for Exeter when first Olly Woodburn received a yellow card and conceded a penalty try while trying to stop a Clermont break and then Olly Devoto followed him to the sin-bin.

The home side took advantage of the extra numbers with Wesley Fofana and former European player of the year Nick Abendanon both crossing for tries.

James Short put the Chiefs on the board at the start of the second half but Clermont responded quickly with tries from Peceli Yato and Alex Lapandry.

Exeter did however find some more momentum as the second half progressed, with Devoto, Woodburn and Michele Campagnaro putting a more respectable look on the scoreline.

Clermont Auvergne: Spedding, Nakaitaci, Lamerat, Fofana, Abendanon, Lopez, Parra, Chaume, Kayser, Jarvis, Iturria, Vahaamahina, Yato, Lapandry, Lee.

Replacements: Ulugia, Debaty, Zirakashvili, Jedrasiak, Chouly, Radosavljevic, Rougerie, Raka.

Exeter: Dollman, Woodburn, Campagnaro, Devoto, Short, Steenson, Maunder, Moon, Yeandle, Francis, Atkins, J. Hill, Armand, Horstmann, Waldrom.

Replacements: Cowan-Dickie, Low, Williams, Welch, Johnson, Townsend, Whitten, J. Simmonds.

Referee: Andrew Brace (Ireland)

For the latest rugby union news follow @bbcrugbyunion on Twitter.

BBC Sports - View Original Story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *